For Immediate Release

July 19, 2022

Rick Schloss
Director of Media Relations, San Diego Bowl Game Association
P: (619) 708-6007
Rschloss@holidaybowl.com







SAN DIEGO, CA (July 19, 2022) - San Diego has been selected to host the 2024 State Games of America, a bi-annual Olympic-style youth competition that features medalists from State Games throughout the country. The California State Games, Sports San Diego, and SDCCU Holiday Bowl partnered on this successful bid to bring the Games to San Diego.

More than 18,000 athletes are expected to compete in the competition across multiple venues in San Diego from August 1 - 4, 2024. San Diego last hosted the State Games of America in 2011.

"The State Games of America will be a tremendous opportunity to showcase all that San Diego has to offer. Our destination has been a proven host to many multi-sport competitions including the California State Games, US Police & Fire Championships, and Transplant Games of America later this month. The participants and their families will enjoy the 70 miles of beaches, world-class attractions, and beautiful weather," said Sports San Diego CEO, Mark Neville.

"San Diego is a perfect community to host the 2024 State Games of America. They host one of the largest annual State Games (California State Games), were a great host in 2011, and our work with their team throughout the pandemic cemented our decision as the host destination for the Games," said National Congress of State Games Chair, Eric Engelbarts.

The National Congress of State Games (NCSG) was created in 1986 to serve as the official association of State Games organizations around the nation. The State Games movement began with New York's Empire State Games in 1978, and has grown to 30 Summer State Games and 10 Winter State Games with over 265,000 athletes, and 50,000 volunteers annually.

Previous Host Cities	Year	Number of Sports
St. Louis, MO	1999	15
St. Louis, MO	2001	15
Hartford, CT	2003	15
Colorado Springs, CO	2005	24
Colorado Springs, CO	2007	29
Colorado Springs, CO	2009	31
San Diego, CA	2011	24
Hershey-Harrisburg, PA	2013	29
Lincoln, NE	2015	53
Grand Rapids, MI	2017	48
Lynchburg, VA	2019	37
Ames-Des Moines, IA	2022	53